Taylor Swift Web
Taylor Swift Web
Your Online Resource For Everything Taylor Swift
Posted on
Jan 18, 2023

The National Announce New Album Featuring Taylor

The National announced their ninth studio album today and shared that Taylor is a guest on a song called The Alcott. First Two Pages of Frankenstein drops on April 28, but you can preorder it now!

The National have announced their ninth studio album: First Two Pages of Frankenstein arrives April 28 via 4AD and features guest contributions from Taylor Swift, Sufjan Stevens, and Phoebe Bridgers. The band has also shared the album’s lead single, “Tropic Morning News,” co-written with lead singer Matt Berninger’s wife, Carin Besser. The National will embark on a tour behind First Two Pages of Frankenstein starting this May; openers include Patti Smith, Soccer Mommy, the Beths, and Bartees Strange. Check out the the new song, the new album’s tracklist, and the band’s tour dates below.

First Two Pages of Frankenstein follows the National’s 2019 album, I Am Easy to Find. The new LP, which the band teased last week on social media, was recorded at Long Pond Studio in upstate New York. In a statement on the new music, Berninger wrote, “Even though we’d always been anxious whenever we were working on a record, this was the first time it ever felt like maybe things really had come to an end,” with guitarist Bryce Dessner adding that the band “managed to come back together and approach everything from a different angle, and because of that we arrived at what feels like a new era for the band.”

Since releasing I Am Easy to Find, the National collaborated with Bon Iver and the London Contemporary Orchestra on a song called “Weird Goodbyes” and made an appearance on Taylor Swift’s 2020 album Folklore, with Bryan Devendorf, Aaron Dessner, and Bryce Dessner credited as contributors. Berninger also sang on the Evermore duet “Coney Island.”

First Two Pages of Frankenstein:

01 Once Upon a Poolside [ft. Sufjan Stevens]
02 Eucalyptus
03 New Order T-Shirt
04 This Isn’t Helping [ft. Phoebe Bridgers]
05 Tropic Morning News
06 Alien
07 The Alcott [ft. Taylor Swift]
08 Grease in Your Hair
09 Ice Machines
10 Your Mind Is Not Your Friend [ft. Phoebe Bridgers]
11 Send for Me


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *